CBAA Invites you to the Book Arts Series presentation on Saturday, August 19!

Date: Saturday, August 19 at 1PM EST
Presenters: Ashley Hairston Doughty
Moderator: Anika Schneider

Developing your personal identity is a life-long process. However, it is possible to analyze and articulate your current identity at any point in time. In order to do so, you must have confidence and curiosity in exploring your own history, trajectory, and existence. In this presentation, book artist and designer Ashley Hairston Doughty showcases how she shares her unique experiences and perspectives through writing, art, and design.


Ashley Hairston Doughty is a visual storyteller, explaining personal experiences through verbal and visual language, utilizing several forms of media. She shares and encourages such art-making as an Associate Professor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Her work is included in the Joan Flasch Artists’ Book Collection, and the Special Collections of Brown University, Smith College, and the University of Iowa. She has received awards from the Caxton Club, the College Book Arts Association, and Arion Press. Ashley’s research on BIPOC design pedagogy is published in the award-winning Black, Brown + Latinx Graphic Design Educators (Princeton Architectural Press, 2021). In 2020, she was invited to work on the Arts & Transportation Rapid Response initiative for the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC), funded by the national non-profit Smart Growth America, the Kresge Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. She holds a BFA from Washington University in St. Louis and an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Artist Statement

Every person has a unique history—a collection of experiences that define our views of the world. For me, these collected experiences began at a young age as my family moved from one city to the next.

Throughout all the transitions, my love of art and design remained constant. By the time I completed college, I had an understanding of what it took to be a “good” designer. My diverse knowledge and techniques allowed me to see the design world from many angles of the profession.

However, it wasn’t until graduate school that I delved deeply into visual storytelling. I began to explain my experiences—the negative, the positive, and the downright weird—through language and visual expression. The methodologies I developed would shift my entire creative process.

The result was art and design that was richer—more impactful. I put great stock in learning, brainstorming, drafting, and testing. This process is applied not only to my personal work, but to projects for clients and lessons for my students. To me, there is immense value in telling each story with authenticity and attentiveness.

Registration Link:

2023 Call for Nominations

The Nominating and Membership Committee seeks nominations from the membership for members to serve on the College Book Art Association (CBAA) Board of Directors beginning in January 2024.

Nominations Due: August 20, 2023

Click here for more information.

Call for Proposals

The Bill Stewart Project Award was established to honor the legacy of Bill Stewart, a longtime supporter and dealer of contemporary fine press and artists’ books. In service to Bill’s fascination with the physical attributes of the book, CBAA invites members to submit proposals for the Bill Stewart Project Award in Book Arts, which provides up to $500 in support of new creative projects and/or to enable the progress and completion of ongoing projects. Learn more...

Proposals Due: September 1, 2023.

Call for Submissions: CBAA Meeting at Rollins College, 2024

In conjunction with the 2024 meeting of CBAA The Association for Book Art Education, the Rollins Museum of Art is presenting an exhibition examining the concept of critical reading. This exhibition will feature text-based contemporary works from the Rollins Book Arts Collection, the Alfond Collection of Contemporary Art and juried submissions from CBAA members.

Submissions Due: September 28, 2023

For more information and submission:

CBAA Change of Date for Conferences/Meetings/Symposiums

“To enjoy warmer weather together and avoid scheduling conflicts amongst organizations, CBAA will convene all future symposia, meetings and conferences in early June. We hope this change from our traditional gatherings in early January will make travel easier and the holiday season longer for our members. Please reach out to with any questions about the change.”

Save the Dates:

June 7–8, 2024: In-Person Meeting & Members Exhibition at Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida 

June 2025: In-Person Conference at University of Wisconsin, Madison 

CBAA Name Update


We are pleased to announce that the College Book Art Association will be renamed CBAA. CBAA’s brand identity and website will be updated shortly to reflect this name change. We will continue to support Book Art initiatives in academia while expanding our support to all book artists. This change will allow us to be more inclusive and fully represent the community we serve. 

We hope you have been enjoying the Book Art Lecture Series that started via Zoom in September 2022. Stay tuned for additional programming in the new year to keep your book art passion going strong.

Thank you for supporting CBAA!


Sarah Matthews


President of CBAA


Please see the CBAA Event Calendar for a full list of postings.



now MIT Press is 

Read the most recent posts from our BOOK ART THEORY blog here.


Ashley Doughty is our featured artist this month.



CBAA Postcard.pdf



Access the Member Directory here.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software